Kevin Richard Hotte, the canadian drummer

Kevin main
Kevin Richard Hotte was born in the beautiful little town of Port Colborne located on the breezy shores of Lake Ontario, in the province of Ontario, Canada, located about 20km from the border with the USA at New York state. He is a truly artist, musician, photographer and also designer. A man who enjoys life and give us music to our ears. Kevin Richard got the 2016 Niagara Music Award Winner  as Instrumental Artist Of The Year.

“I first realized that I wanted to be a musician around the age of 6 or 7, music was very prominent in my family, my mother and father always listened to it and my Grandfather had his own radio show in Niagara Falls in the 1940’s. I used to put pots and pans together to make a drum set and bang on them with wooden spoons”.I started taking formal drum lessons in 1967 up until about 1971 or 72 and then I began playing along with jazz and pop music and playing with other musicians from school. In College, I studied graphic communications which, in a nutshell, is;  graphic design, marketing, copy writing and photography all while keeping up my music and performing.”

Kevin Hotte La Revista Diversa

How to be a good musician?

“The best answer that I can give is to tell young drummers and musicians that being able to play the instrument is only one part of the process. The most important part of the process is being able to work well with other people and make it easy for other people to work with you.  Being a professional musician is no different than running any other business. It is all about people skills and networking.

But that is not where the skill set ends. Nowadays, with the impact of social media and the widespread electronic media in general, musicians can no longer just be musicians, they have to be graphic designers, videographers, photographers, copy writers, public relations officers and social media experts. Especially  independent musicians like myself who do not rely on a  large corporate record label to support their efforts. The more of these things that I can do on my own such as; my own photography, my own videos, create my own website graphics, maintain my own social media etc., etc., means that I do not have to pay out as much money to other service agencies to get this stuff done. Also, by doing it all myself I am able to maintain complete control.

Can you imagine a world without music? 

To me, a world without music would be a world without emotion. Music, Art, Creativity is all based on emotion and on our emotional response to our environment both internal and external.  Music is very largely based on emotion. As a musician, when I see or experience a certain thing that makes me feel a certain way it makes me get inspired by that to compose music.  I believe that as humans, we are multidimensional beings.

First, we have our spiritual side which does not necessarily mean believing in the type of God that is in the Bible, but believing in some reason for why we are on earth and the hope that someone or something is watching over us.

Then we have our practical, survival side whereby we draw on life experience, gained knowledge and physical strength to survive.

Finally, we have our emotional side which combines all of the other aspects of who we are such as, fear, anger, romance, happiness, pain and joy. It is these emotions that truly define us a “human” beings.

Another thought is the philosophy that music is a universal language. No matter who hears it, we all hear the same thing. It may make us feel differently but we all hear the same instruments, chords, melodies, and rhythms. As the saying goes –  “where words fail, music speaks. To me, music is a power, music is a spirit, music is a force, and music is …me!

Kevin Hotte La Revista Diversa

Music influences

“I have very broad and sometimes eclectic musical tastes. I love everything from traditional Jazz artists like John Coltrane and Miles Davis to more recent Jazz artists like Chick Corea, Dave Weckl, The Yellow Jackets and Snarky Puppy. I also like other artists like Carlos Santana, Dream Theatre and of course Rush. Rush is a Canadian band. The drummer Neil Peart is from my home town. In fact, I have played drums in bands with some of the same people as he did.”
Do you feel more comfortable being a drummer or composer or both?Both. But I am always a drummer first and a composer second even though I always listened to music, the part of the music that spoke the loudest to me on a spiritual level was the drums.

A photographer

Kevin is also a professional freelance photographer for a number of years as well. He was able to balance the scheduling of  his music and drumming activities in coordination with any photography assignments that he was hired to do. He shots everything from fashion, to sports, to industry and product advertising. And still shoot photos for his clients today when he can schedule the time. He also exhibits landscape photography at art shows and exhibitions.

I could not avoid I asked him about homoerotic art

“I know about it but I have not done any. For no other reason than the fact that no one has ever asked me to take their photos in that way.”
What are we waiting for? Let’s make an appointment right now!!!Political and social issues

“I think that the role of art in these areas should be strictly for information and communication to the masses. It is OK for an artist to state their opinions on a particular political topic or social issue as a means of expression or comment but an artist or musician should never expect that they will motivate people en masse to take any great, earth moving actions. That being said, there have been a few exceptions to this”.
What do you do when you are not creating?I do not have a lot of downtime these days. However, when I am not creating I spend all of my time with my beautiful wife Natalie and my family. Without their support, I would not be able to do what I do. Natalie endures long periods of loneliness while I am off performing/working.  Occasionally she comes with me but not always. I owe it to her that when I am not performing/working, I am there for her and she gets 100% of my attention.  The same thing for the rest of my family.
 
Do you know about Latin America Art and cultures?

I know a little about Latin American art and culture but really only from what I have read or watched on television. I have always wanted to bring my show to that part of the world to share my music with the beautiful people of Latin America but the cost is too prohibitive without proper financial backing.

What it was the most difficult thing in your career and life?

The biggest challenge in my life as in most people’s lives has been facing the death of a family member. You never, ever get over it 100%.  On my first album A Different Drum, I wrote a song called Time Heals. It is about the death of my Grandmother who was my second mother. That was over 20 years ago and to this day, if I think about her I still get very emotional.

You can enjoy his YouTube channel where Kevin is doing CHOPS, his video series blog.
kevin djembe

About diversity

Our magazine is about diversity, when it was the first time you realize there was people with other sexual orientation?

It wasn’t until I was around the age of 12 or 13 that I realized that there was people with sexual orientations that were not the same as mine. Back then however, around 1972 or 73, it was not as open as it is today. Personally, I have no problem with the LGBT community. To each his own as they say. As far as the status of that community within our society, I believe that there are still those with certain prejudices. It is getting better for the most part, in some geographical areas,  at least in North America.  But we still have a long way to go.
 
What is the most gay friendly thing did you do in your life?

I played in a band where one of the other members was a lesbian. I also used to shoot fashion photography for a gay fashion designer.

Have you ever been in a gay wedding or gay parade or a gay disco or club?

No. But I have been to parties where there were a lot of gay people attending.

I always ask this to everybody in the interview. Please tell us, who do you think is the sexiest man alive in the world?

Well…because I prefer women, I really can’t comment on that. I just don’t think of men in general as being “sexy” in the way you mean it. I suppose if I was to look at it from a woman’s perspective, I would think that some women might find Jason Statham sexy. But who knows??? If you ask my wife… she would probably say that I am 🙂 At least I hope so Ha Ha!!!

“Thanks you for giving me the opportunity to speak to your readers. Maybe one day I will perform in your city/country.”

Until it happens, if anyone is curious about Kevin and his music you can visit him at the following websites:

Official Website:  www.kevinrichard.com

Music Sales and Distribution: https://kevinrichardhotte.bandcamp.com

Facebook: www.facebook.com/kevinrichardhotte

Leave a Reply

